Expat health insurance for digital nomads: SafetyWing vs Genki vs Cigna and more

For expat health insurance, most nomads end up choosing between two kinds of product. Travel medical insurance is cheap, emergency-focused and usually excludes pre-existing conditions. International health insurance costs more and works like proper health cover in several countries. Which one suits you depends mainly on your age, your medical history, and whether you need cover in the US.

Last checked: September 2026

In short:

  • Travel medical insurance is cheap, emergency-focused and usually excludes pre-existing conditions, while international health insurance (IPMI) costs more and handles pre-existing conditions through underwriting.
  • SafetyWing Essential costs $62.72 per 4 weeks for ages 18–39 with a $250,000 overall limit, and SafetyWing Complete costs $177.50 a month with a $1.5m annual maximum for medical treatment.
  • Most nomad-focused insurance products either exclude the US or offer limited US cover, and SafetyWing’s US add-on is capped at 6 months.

The three categories

Travel medical insurance. Built for unexpected illness and accidents while you’re away from home. Good for emergencies, evacuation and short-term care. It usually doesn’t cover routine check-ups, ongoing treatment for chronic conditions, or anything pre-existing. Policies are often capped at a set length (commonly up to 12 months at a time) and priced low.

International health insurance (IPMI). Annual, renewable, and designed for people who live abroad long-term. It covers ongoing and planned care, often with outpatient, dental, maternity and wellness add-ons. Pre-existing conditions are handled through underwriting rather than excluded outright. It costs more, and whether the US is included is usually a separate, expensive choice.

Local insurance. A policy from a domestic insurer in your country of residence, or a public system you join as a resident. It can be good value if you’re actually based somewhere, but it usually only works in that country and may need a residence permit. Local policies are outside the scope of this comparison.

A lot of people combine them: local or international cover where they live, plus travel medical for trips.

Provider comparison

We’ve only included prices published on the provider’s own website. Everything else is described in general terms. Get a quote for your age, nationality and destinations.

Provider / product Type US coverage Pre-existing conditions Age limits Published price
SafetyWing Essential Travel medical Extra cost, not included as standard Not covered. No maternity or cancer treatment either. Limited cover in your home country Priced by age band. Other ages available via calculator $62.72 per 4 weeks (ages 18–39). Overall limit $250,000, evacuation $100,000 lifetime max
SafetyWing Complete Health insurance plus travel protections Add-on: up to 6 months in the US (same add-on gives year-round Hong Kong/Singapore) Not covered. Includes conditions treated or diagnosed at any time in your life, or with symptoms in the last 2 years Sign up until 64, then renewable indefinitely $177.50/month (ages 18–39). $1.5m annual max for medical treatment
Genki Traveler Travel health Not stated on the pages we checked Not covered. Symptoms, advice, diagnosis or treatment in the year before your start date Up to 69 Not published on the pages we checked. Max 12-month periods
Genki Native International health Worldwide but “limited in USA”. Premium tier adds full cover in your country of citizenship Assessed individually through underwriting Up to 55 at enrolment, no limit once covered Not published on the pages we checked
Cigna Global International health (IPMI) Choose “worldwide” or “worldwide excluding USA” Depends on underwriting and plan. Check the policy documents From 18, no upper enrolment limit stated Quote only. Silver $1m / Gold $2m annual inpatient limit, Platinum paid in full
IMG Global Medical Insurance International health (IPMI) Worldwide available. US citizens can buy only if living outside the US, or intending to for 6+ months a year Some contracts exclude pre-existing conditions Not stated on the page we checked Quote only. Medical limits of $5m–$8m depending on plan
Allianz Care International health (IPMI), annual or short-term (3/6/9/12 months) Depends on the geographic area you choose Full medical underwriting, moratorium (24-month waiting period) or non-underwritten options Not stated on the page we checked Quote only
World Nomads Travel insurance (not health insurance) Not assessed Most pre-existing conditions not covered. Some listed conditions may be covered automatically depending on your country of residence Not stated on the page we checked Quote only. Can buy or extend while travelling (waiting periods may apply)

What actually matters

1. The US question. US healthcare costs more than anywhere else, and insurers price that in. Most nomad-focused products either exclude the US or offer limited US cover (SafetyWing’s add-on is capped at 6 months). IPMI products usually make you choose, and cover including the US typically costs a lot more. If you’re American, or often in the US, check this first.

2. Pre-existing conditions. This is where travel medical and IPMI differ most:

  • Travel medical products generally exclude pre-existing conditions outright, and their look-back periods vary (Genki Traveler 1 year, SafetyWing Complete any past diagnosis or treatment plus symptoms within 2 years).
  • IPMI products underwrite. Full medical underwriting means you disclose everything up front and get specific exclusions or acceptance. A moratorium means no questionnaire, but conditions from before you joined are excluded until you’ve had a symptom-free period (Allianz Care states 24 months).

If you have anything ongoing, find out whether full underwriting would give you a better result than a moratorium. Ask before you buy, not when you claim.

3. Age. Travel medical products tend to have lower sign-up age limits and steeper age pricing. Several IPMI products will sign you up at any adult age, and some keep you covered for life once you’re in. If you’re in your 50s, locking in a renewable IPMI policy earlier may matter more than this year’s premium.

4. Home-country cover. Some travel products limit cover when you go back to your home country. If you spend a few months a year there, check this.

5. Renewability. Look for guaranteed renewal. A policy that can be cancelled or re-underwritten after you get sick doesn’t protect you long term.

6. Limits. Compare overall annual limits ($250,000 vs $1.5m vs several million) and evacuation limits, not just the monthly price. And read the policy wording, not the marketing page.

Related: Digital nomad visa countries: which countries have one (2026 list) · How to become a digital nomad in 2026: a realistic 7-step plan · Retire abroad (2026): retirement visas, pension tax and healthcare

Related guides: Digital nomad packing list (2026): what experienced nomads actually carry · Best cities for digital nomads in 2026: 12 picks by budget and lifestyle · Is SafetyWing legit? Nomad Insurance review and member experiences (2026) · International health insurance (IPMI) for nomads (2026): providers compared

Quick answers

Q: What is the best health insurance for digital nomads?
It depends mainly on your age, medical history and whether you need US cover. Travel medical insurance such as SafetyWing Essential ($62.72 per 4 weeks for ages 18–39) is cheap and emergency-focused. International health insurance such as Cigna Global, IMG or Allianz Care costs more but works like proper health cover in several countries.

Q: Does digital nomad insurance cover pre-existing conditions?
Travel medical products generally exclude them outright, with look-back periods that vary: Genki Traveler uses 1 year, and SafetyWing Complete excludes any past diagnosis or treatment plus symptoms within 2 years. IPMI products underwrite instead, through full medical underwriting or a moratorium, which Allianz Care states is 24 months.

Q: Does digital nomad health insurance cover the US?
Usually not fully. Most nomad-focused products exclude the US or offer limited cover: SafetyWing’s add-on gives up to 6 months in the US, and Genki Native is “limited in USA”. IPMI plans such as Cigna Global let you choose worldwide or worldwide excluding USA, and cover including the US typically costs a lot more.

Sources

This is general information from the Nomad Forums team, not medical or insurance advice. Rules change; check with a qualified adviser before acting.

Over to you: Have you made a claim abroad, and how did the insurer handle it (direct billing, reimbursement time, any disputes)? If you have a pre-existing condition, did full underwriting or a moratorium work out better for you?

Cost of living in Vietnam (2026): Ho Chi Minh City, Hanoi, Da Nang
Cost of living in Georgia (the country, 2026): Tbilisi, Batumi, Kutaisi
Cost of living in Colombia (2026): Medellín, Bogotá, Cartagena, Cali
How to leave the US (2026): a checklist for moving out of the US
Is SafetyWing legit? Nomad Insurance review and member experiences (2026)
France long-stay visitor visa (2026): requirements, income and tax
International health insurance (IPMI) for nomads (2026): providers compared
Living in Lisbon as a digital nomad (2026): cost of living, visas, neighbourhoods
Living in Chiang Mai as a digital nomad (2026): cost of living, visas, neighbourhoods
Cost of living in Bali for digital nomads (2026): Canggu rent, visas and areas
Living in Medellín as a digital nomad (2026): cost of living, visas, safety
Living in Mexico City as a digital nomad (2026): cost of living, visas, neighbourhoods
Cost of living in Kuala Lumpur for digital nomads (2026): rent, visas, neighbourhoods
Italy digital nomad visa: requirements, income and tax in 2026
Japan digital nomad visa (2026): income, countries, 6-month limit, tax
Brazil digital nomad visa (VITEM XIV): requirements and tax in 2026
Digital Nomad Visa Index 2026: income requirements for 28 open visa routes, ranked
Cost of living in Portugal (2026): Lisbon, Porto, Algarve and Madeira
Cost of living in Thailand (2026): Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Phuket, Pattaya
Cost of living in Spain (2026): Madrid, Barcelona, Valencia, Málaga
Cost of living in Dubai (2026): rent by area, budget and tax
Cost of living in Mexico (2026): 4 cities compared for nomads